The three graduates of Grandview High School who received this year’s Jane Bryan distinguished alumni awards accepted their awards at the Grandview Education Foundation’s April 1 awards brunch at the Armacost Car Museum. Shown from left are Byron Roberson, class of 1987, Marla Lynn, class of 1992 and Christopher Markley, class of 1999.

Grandview Education Foundation honors three alumni

Marla Lynn, Christopher Markley and Byron Roberson were presented the Jane Bryan Distinguished Alumni Awards.

By John Sharp

The Grandview Education Foundation presented Jane Bryan Distinguished Alumni Awards to three Grandview High School graduates at its annual awards brunch at the Armacost Car Museum April 1.

The awards are named for the late 40-year Grandview School District educator Jane Bryan who graduated from the high school in 1947.

Marla Lynn, class of 1992, is the administrative assistant to the director of the District’s Transportation Department and has worked for the Department for 18 years including as a school bus driver and driver trainer. 

She currently serves as the Department’s Wellbeing Ambassador and has received the District’s Above and Beyond Award given to staffers who go the extra mile to provide service above and beyond expectations.  She is a member of the District’s Youth Court executive board and is currently its president.  She also is a member of the Potpourri Committee, a staff group that meets monthly with the superintendent to discuss the coming school year’s calendar.

Christopher Markley, class of 1999, is the Chief of Standardization & Evaluation for the 931st Operations Group at McConnell Air Force Base in Kansas. He has a bachelor’s degree in aviation management and a master’s degree in aviation safety.

After serving as a pilot for regional airlines, Markley joined the Air Force Reserve and later became a fulltime member of his unit.  He has flown over 100 combat missions in operations Iraqi Freedom, Enduring Freedom, Noble Eagle and Unified Protector.  He has earned numerous decorations including the Meritorious Service Medal with oak leaf cluster, the Air Medal with three oak leaf clusters and the Air Force Commendation Medal with oak leaf cluster.

Byron Roberson, class of 1987, is the police chief of Prairie Village, KS, becoming the first African-American police chief in Johnson County history when he was appointed in 2021.  He has a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and a master’s degree in administration of justice.  He also is a graduate of the Northwestern School of Staff & Command and the FBI National Police Academy.  He served eight years in the U.S. Marine Reserves including one year in Operation Desert Storm.

Roberson also serves as secretary/treasurer of the Johnson County Police Chiefs Association and is a board member of the Johnson County Criminal Justice Reform Committee that seeks to find creative ways to reduce recidivism and reform the county’s criminal justice system.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: