KC Scholars awards 15 students

By John Sharp

KC Scholars, a non-profit organization that provides college scholarships to students from low and modest income families in the bistate six-county metropolitan area has awarded 15 scholarships of up to $50,000 each ($10,000 per year up to five years) to juniors at Belton, Grandview and Ruskin High Schools.

The scholarship recipients at Belton High School are Bryant Barkley, Briseyda Basurto-Reyes, Emmah Burnett, Abigail Foust, Jina Hinojos and Yarecsi Rodriguez.

Recipients at Grandview High School are Daikari Edwards, Juliet Lopez, Angel Rodriguez Gonzalez and Yadira Irene Zarco Fragoso.

Recipients at Ruskin High School are Yuridia Abrego, Angel Akinleye, Hafza Asif, Emily Ramirez and Sarrah Sharaf.

High school freshmen are eligible to apply for a college savings match program, and 10 Ruskin students were accepted in that program.

KC Scholars which receives significant financial support from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation also provides adult learner scholarships to adults 18 and older.  Recipients of all its programs receive support services throughout their high school and college careers.

The Hickman Mills Educational Foundation which raises money for student scholarships and teacher grants for special projects awarded scholarships this year to 28 Ruskin High School seniors.

Recipients are Irvin Cansino Abundiz, Gary Boyington, III, Rhamon Brown, Ellis Cohen, Londyn Dameron, Jacquelyn Diaz, Eliseo Rocha Diosdado, Zayna Elyousef, Amani Elzein, Everett Farr, Elijah Henderson, Audraya Hill, Nazish Khan, Anthony Luis, Jasmine Moreno, Adriana Morfin, Samy Mouri, Cameron Ragan, Jessica Ramirez-Madora, Juan Ramirez, Zakiya Ramzan, Mark Ross, Reyna Salvador-Jimenez, Mahnoor Shahid, Cameron Shears, Elliana Wandick, Olivia Wandick and Tomie-Mickai Williams. 


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: